Wahl to be honored by US Soccer for lifetime contributions

The late Grant Wahl will be honored with this year’s Colin Jose Media Award — given to journalists who have made long-term contributions to soccer in the United States — and a seat will be saved for him in the press box for the All-American men’s home field. and women’s competition between now and the World Cup in 2026.

Wahl died at the age of 49 on December 10 after collapsing while covering the World Cup quarter-final between Argentina and the Netherlands in Lusail, Qatar.

– Echegaray: A tribute to Grant Wahl and his legacy

Wahl will be honored at the US National Soccer Hall of Fame induction in Frisco, Texas, on May 6, the hall said Wednesday. Landon Donovan, DaMarcus Beasley, Lauren Cheney Holiday, Kate Sobrero Markgraf, former USA Women’s coach Jill Ellis and Steve Zungul will be inducted into the Hall.

The National Soccer Hall of Fame tweeted: “He dedicated his life to developing the game and left an indelible legacy on American soccer. Grant Wahl has been named the recipient of the 2023 Colin Jose Media Award.”

In addition, US Soccer announced that a seat with a Wahl jersey and flowers would be set aside for him in the press boxes for all US men’s and women’s home games ahead of the 2026 World Cup in North America, beginning with Wednesday’s USMNT game against Serbia in Los Angeles.

Wahl worked for Sports Illustrated from 1996 to 2021, covering football and college basketball, then started his own website. He also worked for Fox and CBS, and he wrote the books “The Beckham Experiment,” about English star David Beckham’s move to Major League Soccer’s LA Galaxy, and “Masters of Modern Soccer.”

An autopsy by the New York City medical examiner found that Wahl died of an aortic aneurysm.

The award, first given in 2004, is named after the Hall’s historian emeritus.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: