Tyler Reddick drove Big Machine Racing in the first Xfinity Series

Tyler Reddick led the No. 48 to victory Saturday at Texas Motor Speedway, which gave Big Machine Racing its first win in the series.

Big Machine Racing’s former best finish was eighth at the Circuit of the Americas earlier this season with Jade Budford. The success came with the 45th career series start for Big Machine Racing. Reddick is making his second start on the team this year, helping Big Machine Racing improve its performance. This is the 10th series win in Reddick’s career.

William Byron, who started his first series since winning the 2017 Xfinity title, was second to Reddick, the 2018 and ’19 Xfinity champion.

Third was Sam Mayer. Justin Allgaier was fourth and Austin Hill completed the top five.

The 167-lap race featured 11 holds for 62 laps.

The race changed with a restart on Lap 88. Josh Berry, who won the second period, was battling JR Motorsports teammate Justin Allgaier for the lead at the start of the third period, when Berry spun. The others collected behind Berry were Ty Gibbs, Brandon Jones and Noah Gragson.

After a few laps, a tire fell and Gragson’s car was damaged again. He finished 36th.

STAGE 1 WINNER: Noah Gragson

STAGE 2 WINNER: Josh Berry

WHO HAS A GOOD RACE: Third was Sam Mayer. He has finished in the top five of six in the last seven races. … AJ Allmendinger finished ninth. He is the only driver to finish in the top 10 in every Xfinity race this year. … Justin Allgaier passed a flat tire on the left rear to be placed in fourth. This is his third consecutive top-four finish.

WHO HAS A BAD RACE: Noah Gragson’s race turned at the start of the final period. He was hit by Ty Gibbs as the field was bunched after Josh Berry spun. The contact sent Gragson to the wall, ending with any hope of winning. He continued but was destroyed again shortly after the restart, ending his career. He finished in 36th place after leading 32 laps and winning one stage.

NOTABLE: Tyler Reddick is the seventh straight winner in the last seven races of the Xfinity Series.

NEXT: The series is racing on May 28 at Charlotte Motor Speedway (1 pm ET on FS1).

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.