Haudenschild to chase dad’s big annual story

Sheldon Haudenschild (Paul Arch photo)

If Sheldon Haudenschild wins the Grand Annual Sprint Car Classic at Premier Speedway this weekend, he will complete a remarkable father-son double.

In 1981, a then baby-faced 22-year-old native of Wooster, Ohio, Jac Haudenschild, visited Warrnambool for the Classic. By the end of the weekend, Haudenschild had won the final, beating most of the field, including his compatriot Rich Vogler, to defeat Australian stars Bill Barrows and Noel Bradford.

Jac Haudenschild returned a year later to grab back-to-back wins, passing the nation’s greatest driver Garry Rush in sight of the checkered flag when the Australian’s Chevy engine stalled.

Haudenschild was not the first American to win the race. That honor belongs to Jimmy Sills, who claimed the win in 1978. Sills first toured Australia with Larry Burton and Mike Andreeta in the summer of 1974-’75. It was the first of 14 trips down under.

In 1977 Sills finished third in the Classic behind two of the finest Australian drivers of the time, Garry Rush and Steve Brazier.

The following year, Sills came from 13th on the grid and took a lead which he would not relinquish for the final 14 circuits, winning from a tenacious Les Harrower and Noel Bradford.

A year after Jac Haudenschild’s second victory in 1982, Danny Smith claimed the first of six wins in the Classic, just one short of the record seven wins in the Rush, the 10-time Australian champion.

Noel Bradford, Jac Haudenschild & Bill Barrows 1981
Jac Haudenschild (center) shares the podium with Noel Bradford and Bill Barrows after winning the 1981 Grand Annual Sprint Car Classic. (Kevin Andrews photo)

The Classic became the country’s open national sprint car when Sprint Car Council officials restricted the Australian championship to local drivers in the late 1970s. Being Australian champion was one thing: winning the Classic against all comers was another.

“I don’t think I’ve made a secret of the fact that I regard this annual race as the most important on the sprint car calendar,” said Garry Rush in 1984. “It gives more satisfaction than winning the national title.”

In subsequent years, Australia’s premier sprint car race was won by seven other Americans – Jack Hewitt, Danny Lasoki, Donny Schatz (twice), Joey Saldana, Shane Stewart, Tim Keading and Kyle Hirst.

In total, American drivers have won 17 of the 49 editions. Other Americans – Mike Ward, Greg Hodnett, Chad Kemenah, Jason Johnson, Craig Dollansky, Terry McCarl and Carson Macedo – have placed in the race.

This year, Sheldon Haudenschild is one of 10 Americans entered in the $50,000-to-win race among 119 entries.

He is joined by Brad Sweet, Carson Macedo, Brock Zearfoss, Justin Sanders, Chase Randall, Cole Macedo, Cory Eliason, Aaron Reutzel and Tyler Courtney.

Haudenschild, Sweet and Reutzel were questionable starters after visa issues delayed their travels, but those issues were resolved once the relevant applications were processed.

Eliason and Courtney have been the most successful of the US Contingent race on the West Coast, while 2018 runner-up Carson Macedo has had the most wins in the usually stronger East Coast competition.

Haudenschild and Sweet arrived in Australia a week ago. Haudenschild impressed in his only race to date, but that was against a generally lower class in a 360 series.

Of the Australians, Jock Goodyer, Lachlan McHugh, Luke Oldfield, Jamie Veal and Marcus Dumesny have been in good form, while others such as James McFadden has shown the speed to contend.

With Premier Speedway sold out for the $225,000 three-day feature, the 50th Classic is the most anticipated race in decades.

Half of the field will attempt to qualify on Friday 27 January, the other half on Saturday 28 January, with the final night on 29 January.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: