Haudenschild Sweeps At Beaver Dam

Sheldon Haudenschild in victory lane at Beaver Dam Raceway. (Photo by TWC)

BEAVER DAM, Wis. – Sheldon Haudenschild proved relentless at Beaver Dam Speedway.

After wiring the field in the 35-lap World of Outlaws feature on Friday night, Haudenschild overtook early pacesetter Spencer Bayston in the 13th round at the 40-lap Jim “JB” Boyd Memorial on Saturday night and went on to cruise with his seventh series win of the year aboard NOS Energy Drink No. 17 Sprint Car.

While Haudenschild took the lead before midway point, Jacob Allen moved to second and maintained the pressure shortly before fading as Donny Schatz made a late rally to catch the runner-up awards with Logan Schuchart filling in. the podium in the third.

It was just a precaution on the last lap when Brad Sweet turned on the backstretch which created stress for Haudenschild.

“I thought it would somehow disappear when that caution came out on the last lap, but sure, we finished it tonight,” Haudenschild explained. “I really ripped the top so I thought as long as I get a good start and don’t go into one and two, I’ll be fine.”

No need to worry because Haudenschild ended the deal as eighth-starter Schatz stepped past both Shark teammates Allen and Schuchart on the green-white-checkered on the stripe to take second.

“We were very good after about five or ten laps and I can’t praise this new motor enough from Ron Shaver,” Schatz said. “We tried different things and now we have something that works well on my right foot.”

Schuchart claimed the podium position, explaining that, “It’s better than we’ve done in the past here, so I’m happy about that.”

After leading the first dozen rounds, Bayston was fourth along with David Gravel who earned Hard Charger awards by racing from 13th to fifth.

The ending:

Features (40 Laps): 1. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild[3]; 2. 15-Donny Schatz[8]; 3. 1S-Logan Schuchart[2]; 4. 5-Spencer Bayston[1]; 5. 2-David Gravel[13]; 6. 1A-Jacob Allen[4]; 7. 41-Carson Macedo[10]; 8. 18-Giovanni Scelzi[5]; 9. 83-James McFadden[7]; 10. 49-Brad Sweet[9]; 11. 9-Kasey Kahne[11]; 12. 39-Jake Blackhurst[19]; 13. 20G-Noah Gass[16]; 14. 73-Scotty Thiel[15]; 15. 24-Rico Abreu[6]; 16. 1AU-Marcus Dumesny[14]; 17. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss[12]; 18. 23-Russel Borland[18]; 19. 2W-Scott Neitzel[21]; 20. 7S-Robbie Price[20]; 21. 4K-Kris Spitz[22]; 22. 87A-Austin Hartmann[24]; 23. 8-Aaron Reutzel[17]; 24. 49J-Josh Schneiderman[23]

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.