2022 SRX Series: Tracking guide, prominent drivers, local All-Star, more for Five Flags Speedway

Now entering its second season in 2022, the Superstar Racing Experience has served as the premier national showcase for grassroots racing, putting some of the best drivers on some of the best short tracks in America. And considering that, it’s probably only right that the 2022 SRX season begins at the site of one of the best short track races in the country: Five Flags Speedway.

Built in 1953, this half -mile oval in Pensacola, Fla., Is run by everyone from the most popular of NASCAR champions to the lowest among local drivers. Banked at a solid 15 degrees, Five Flags is a fast and challenging track that combines the need for accuracy with the ability to take the time, find the right groove, and maintain speed in and out of the corner.

For those unfamiliar with Five Flags Speedway, here is a comprehensive speedway track guide that will host the season opener for the Camping World SRX Series.

Biggest Race

Five Flags Speedway’s largest race is the annual Snowball Derby, the largest and most prestigious late model stock car race in the U.S. Since running every December since 1968, the Snowball Derby has been the most coveted prize in the last model race, proved by the caliber of the drivers who won the event.

Three NASCAR Cup champions – Darrell Waltrip, Kyle Busch, and Chase Elliott – all won the Snowball Derby. So are former NASCAR standouts like Donnie Allison, Ted Musgrave and Rich Bickle. In recent years, racing has helped launch young drivers onto the NASCAR radar, such as when a young Erik Jones beat Busch to win the 2012 Snowball Derby.

Five Flags Speedway also hosted a NASCAR Cup Series race in 1953, a 140-lap event won by Herb Thomas. More recently, the track has stopped on the ARCA Menards Series East schedule in each of the last three seasons.

Known Drivers

While Five Flags Speedway has been a stop along the road for many talented drivers over the years, the legacies of others are deeply tied to the speedway. Dave Mader III, for example, won the Snowball Derby and the track championship in the Super Late Models. Pensacola’s own Johanna Long (Robbins) won the SLM track championship in 2009 before a Snowball Derby win in 2010 helped launch a NASCAR race that lasted several seasons. Eddie Mercer also has a long and famous history on the track, winning the championship on the track as well as the Snowball Derby.

Chase Elliott and Daniel Hemric both went on to win NASCAR championships after winning championships at Five Flags, and some of the latest champions on the track include some of the most well -known names in late model racing. Andrew “Bubba” Pollard, Casey Roderick, Augie Grill, and Jake Garcia have been among the track champions for the past 10 years.

Local All-Star

Of the many track championships already on his resume, Pollard will serve as the local All-Star driver for the SRX race at Five Flags. Pollard qualified for his SRX chance via the PepperJack Kennel Twins track earlier this year, posting the best average finish over the race weekend to get a seat.

A native of Senoia, Ga., Pollard’s name and career legacy goes beyond Five Flags, as the 35-year-old has become one of the most prolific drivers in short track racing in the southeast and beyond. . Pollard has more than 100 career victories in the final models, including some of the sport’s biggest races such as the Rattler 250 at South Alabama Speedway, the All-American 400 at the Nashville Fairgrounds, the Slinger Nationals and more.

Did you know?

The current track record at Five Flags Speedway in super late models is owned by Ty Majeski, who put up a lap of 16.120 on the weekend of the Snowball Derby in 2015. The overall track record belongs to Brian Gerster, who lapped in facility with 13,046 sprint car drivers.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.